Webinar Proposed Expansion on "Failure to Prevent" Legislation in the UK

Date: May 13, 2020
Time: 10:00 am - 11:00 am

PROPOSED EXPANSION ON UK “FAILURE TO PREVENT” LEGISLATION AND WHAT IT COULD MEAN FOR COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS OF UK CORPORATIONS

By TRACE International

Wednesday, 13 May 2020

10am PT / 1pm ET / 5pm London / 10:30pm Mumbai

During this session hear from Lauren Higgins, Consultant, TRACE and former Group Compliance Officer of a TRACE member firm, as she addresses the current momentum to expand the concept of “failure to prevent” legislation to both wider forms of economic crime and human rights breaches.

UK legislation with the concept “failure to prevent” already exists related to bribery and tax evasion. Dissecting a recent report from the British Institute of International and Comparative Law (BIICL), Lauren will draw parallels and differences between the current similar existing offences, the UK Modern Slavery Act (2015), and the proposed legislation.

This session will also explore musings that the UK government would add a similar legislation for wider forms of economic crime and what these added legislations could mean for UK-linked companies without overwhelming their compliance functions. 

CLE credits are available for this webinar in the following states – TX, VA, NY, NJ, CA. Additional instructions on how to obtain CLE credits will be provided during the webinar.

Read more and register HERE.

 

 

Sponsors