Webinar Ambassador Emily Haber in Conversation with Ambassador John Emerson

Date: June 9, 2020
Time: 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Focus on Germany, Los Angeles World Affairs Council & Town Hall

June 9th at 11:30am PT / 2:30pm ET / 7:30pm London

Read more and register HERE.

In a joint video conference on May 18th, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron called for the creation of a 500-billion-euro recovery fund. As nations around the world begin to move past initial lock-downs and attempt to address the economic impacts from COVID-19, political leaders like Merkel and Macron are grappling with how to effectively move forward, both for their own countries and with their regional partners. How is the German government working to safeguard their citizens, as well as provide support to neighboring nations? What is going on with the European Union, and what is Germany’s position within this regional block? And what is the status of Germany’s relationships globally?  

On this livestream, the Los Angeles World Affairs Council & Town Hall host German Ambassador to the United States Emily Haber in conversation with John Emerson, former US Ambassador to Germany. The discussion will start with Germany’s response to COVID-19, but broaden to address what’s going on in Europe and beyond. As European Union members are discussing the path forward, what is Germany doing as one of the largest countries? Ambassador Haber and Ambassador Emerson join The Council to address how Germany is working to move forward domestically, regionally, and globally.

 

Sponsors