Webinar Confronting Racism: A Pandemic Within A Pandemic

Date: June 17, 2020
Time: 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

 

Confronting Racism: A Pandemic Within A Pandemic

By Los Angeles World Affairs Council & Town Hall

June 17th at 11am PT / 2pm ET / 7pm London

Read more and register HERE.

In the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd by a police officer in Minneapolis, the current moment in the United States has been described as, ‘A Pandemic Within a Pandemic.’ To speak to the recent tragic events and future solutions, the Los Angeles World Affairs Council & Town Hall will host a panel discussion with Michael Lawson, President & CEO of the Los Angeles chapter of the National Urban League, Helen Torres, President & CEO of Hispanas Organized for Political Equality (HOPE) and Charlie Woo, Co-Founder and CEO of Center for Asians United for Self Empowerment (CAUSE).

The panel will address the current national conversation on racism, police brutality, and criminal justice reform — and how these topics relate to the communities served by the National Urban League, HOPE, and CAUSE. The conversation will also speak to the medical, economic and cultural impact of the COVID-19 crisis — as the pandemic and subsequent shutdown have exposed and reinforced issues of racial and ethnic inequality, discrimination and barriers to healthcare and economic success.

This program seeks to uplift the changes each respective community is advocating for, as well as the changes they hope to see within the wider Los Angeles community and US to move the nation forward.

 

Sponsors