Webinar Institutional & Global Origins of Inequality on the Africa Continent

Date: June 24, 2020
Time: 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

As many Americans have been grappling with racism, police brutality, and systemic inequality domestically, this next livestream between the Los Angeles World Affairs Council & Town Hall and the World Trade Center Los Angeles zooms out to interrogate racism and racial inequality globally, specifically towards African nations.

The conversation will be led by Dr. Arikana Chihombori Quao, MD & African Union Ambassador to the US (2016-2019), Ben Murray-Bruce, former Nigerian Senator (2015-2019) & founder of the Silverbird Group, and Grant Harris, CEO of Harris Africa Partners & former Senior Director for African Affairs at the White House.

Dr. Chihombori Quao, Mr. Murray-Bruce and Mr. Harris will discuss the unfair treatment of African Nations by corporations and international institutions. Unequal health outcomes in many African Nations from the COVID-19 pandemic, due to the unequal global allocation of health resources, is just one pressing example of present-day anti-blackness and the legacy of colonialism.

The discussion will focus on historic and contemporary examples of institutionalized racism towards the continent of Africa within global economic structures and business practices – as these are key modern drivers of anti-black racism and oppression. The conversation will be moderated by WTCLA president, Stephen Cheung.

On June 24th at 11am PT / 2pm ET / 7pm London

Read more and register HERE.

 

 

Sponsors