Webinar Everything You Always Wanted to Know about Brexit

Date: November 23, 2020
Time: 8:00 am - 9:00 am

An event by the American Council on Germany.

November 23rd at 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm London

Read more and register HERE.

 
"Everything You Always Wanted to Know about Brexit, but Were Afraid to Ask"

with 

Former Ambassador Dr. Peter Wittig,
Senior Advisor Global Affairs, Schaeffler AG 
 
It is fair to say that this year the coronavirus pandemic and the U.S. election have dominated the headlines. Deadlines for completing a Brexit deal have come and gone, and time is running out for negotiators to reach an agreement regarding the terms of the United Kingdom’s departure from the European Union. Although the U.K. formally left the EU on January 31, it has continued to follow the bloc’s rules until the end of this year. This 11-month transition period was supposed to allow both sides to reach a post-Brexit deal, but negotiations have stalled (over issues such as trade and fishing). What is the likelihood the U.K. and the EU will reach a deal? What will the U.K.’s relationship with the EU look like when it leaves the European single market? What impact do the U.S. election results have on U.K.-EU negotiations?

With only weeks to go, join us for a discussion with veteran German diplomat Dr. Peter Wittig, who served most recently as the German Ambassador to the Court of St. James and prior to that as the German Ambassador to the United States.
 
 

Sponsors