Globinar Employee Caregivers: Why It’s Important and 3 Easy Wins

Date: November 4, 2020
Time: 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Location: 
ZOOM Virtual
Contact: Global Chamber

All globinars are FREE for members... login for your ticket and seat at the virtual table.

Global Chamber® in recognition of National Family Caregivers Month presents a program to help executives and other employees better care for their family members and loved ones. In this globinar we seek to:

  • Raise awareness among companies globally about the caregiving crisis in our world (including from a business operations viewpoint), and
  • Provide members with “easy wins” in terms of how you can support employees who are also caregiving for a loved one at home (in addition to their jobs). These employees represent at least 20% of every workforce, yet this important employee segment often is overlooked.

From Aging Matters International, our member Debbie Howard (The Carter Group and Aging Matters International) will offer two opportunities for Global Chamber members, one of which is this globinar, where whe will be joined by Robin Weeks, an executive coach involved in this caregiving space. They will present educational information for executives on the following topics:

  • Why it’s important for companies to support working caregivers (based on a report by Harvard Business Review)
  • Who are the working family caregivers in your employ (based on a report by the National Alliance for Caregiving)
  • What are the types of support employee family caregivers need and want (mandatory programs, best practices)
  • What can executives and managers do to address the needs of their employees who are also serving as family caregivers?

Join us Wednesday, November 4th in the Americas at 3pm PT / 5pm CT / 6pm ET & 11pm London plus... 

Thursday, November 5th at 7am Singapore / 8am Tokyo + Seoul / 10am Sydney + Melbourne 

Speakers

  • Debbie Howard - Chairman at The Carter Group-JMRN and Founder of Aging Matters International (AMI)
  • Robin Weeks - Founder at My Pivotal Point

Agenda

  0:00 Opening comments from all

  0:30 Q&A and roundtable discussion

  0:55 Close

Speaker Bios

Debbie Howard - Chairman at The Carter Group-JMRN and founder of Aging Matters International (AMI). Most of us know Debbie for her expertise in the Japanese market. But her other passion is working as an advocate for family caregivers. Inspired by her own experience as live-in caregiver for her Mom during her dying days, Debbie put her research skills to work and wrote a book to help other caregivers and caregivers-to-be. Nowadays, she speaks and blogs regularly on this topic, leads workshops (Planning for Difficult Conversations, Surviving and Thriving while Caregiving, Relaunching Your Life Once Caregiving is Done, and more). She helps companies develop programs to support their employees who struggle to balance caregiving responsibilities at home with their work

Contact by email: Debbie Howard

More Info: The Care Giving Journey & Debbie's Linkedin

 

Robin Weeks - Founder at My Pivotal Point. Robin has a background in business and experiential learning, and has designed and delivered leadership and team development trainings with Fortune 100 and 500 companies for over 12 years. She started My Pivotal Point in 2010 to focus on working regionally with small- to mid-size businesses, helping them develop strong managers and leaders to enhance their growth. Her services include coaching and leadership development trainings. After having served as the primary caregiver for her Mom for 6 years, she launched Caring for Caregivers within My Pivotal Point – a practice focused on supporting family caregivers and their employers through coaching and caregiver education. Robin is a Certified Caregiving Consultant, a Big Five for the Workplace Consultant and Coach, and is Certified in Conflict Resolution.

Contact by email: Robin Weeks

More Info: My Pivotal Point & Care Year's Academy... and Robin's Linkedin 

 

Moderator: Doug Bruhnke - Founder/CEO of Global Chamber®. Doug is an entrepreneur dedicated to helping members of Global Chamber® successfully reach new markets across 525 metros - everywhere! He is a two-time expat with Dupont in Tokyo and Singapore with over 30 years of global business experience in nearly all countries and segments. Doug is also regional advisor for U.S. Global Leadership Coalition and a member of Arizona District Export Council, British American Business Council of Northern California and more. He has a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from University of Utah and an EMBA from Michigan State University, and is co-inventor on 5 patents. Doug was born in Mt. Kisco, New York and now is based in Scottsdale, Arizona and Palo Alto, California. Hear the Global Chamber® story here.

About Global Chamber®: Global Chamber® is a growing and collaborating community of CEOs, executives and leaders in 525 metro regions around the world... connecting member businesses to new opportunities and advancing growth and success. It's the only chamber of commerce in the world operating in hundreds of locations that helps exporting, importing and investing members to connect through warm introductions to clients, partners, projects and resources. Global Chamber® is a registered trademark of Global Chamber, LLC.

 

Sponsors